Many people love riding motorcycles. These people love the freedom they feel when they are out on the road. If you are planning to buy a motorcycle in California, your drivers license won’t give you the legal right to ride.
Riding a motorcycle in California would require that you have a California motorcycle license. If you are planning to get a motorcycle license, you should understand the process.
If you ever get into a motorcycle wreck in California, be sure to contact a good Riverside motorcycle accident attorney.
Two Classes of Motorcycle Licenses
In California, there are two types of motorcycle licenses available depending on the type of bike that you are planning to ride:
- M1: An M1 license allows you to ride any type of motorcycle and motorized bike.
- M2: An M2 motorcycle license is more restrictive. This license allows you to legally drive a motorized bike or scooter.
California Motorcycle Learners Permit
No matter how old you are or how long you have had a drivers license, you would need to obtain a learners permit so that you can practice riding a motorcycle before you test.
If you are under 21, you would need to hold your permit for six months before you would be allowed to take the test for your license. Also, you would need to complete a motorcycle safety course approved by the state. To obtain your permit, you would need to pass a written test. Also, you would need to give your thumbprint, pass a vision test, and present the DMV with your birth certificate and Social Security card.
There are a few requirements that you must meet to get your motorcycle learners permit.
- You must be at least 15 ½ years old.
- If you are under 18, your parents would need to sign the DL 44 application form.
- If you are under 18, you would need to show proof that you have completed the required drivers education course.
When you have your permit, there are certain restrictions that you must follow when riding a motorcycle.
- You cannot ride a motorcycle at night
- You cannot ride with any passengers on the motorcycle
- You must remain in California when you ride
- You cannot ride on California’s freeways
Obtaining Your Motorcycle License when Under 21
If you already have your learners permit, you can get your motorcycle license if you are at least 16 years old. You would need to make an appointment with the California DMV to schedule your test. On the day of your test, you will need $35 and proof of birth and residency.
If you pass your written and driving test, you will be given a temporary license that is valid for 90 days. Within this time, you will receive your permanent license in the mail. If you are under 18 years old, you will need to have a parent or guardian with you.
Obtaining Your Motorcycle License when over 21
If you already have a drivers license, you would need to take a quick written test and then move on to the driving test. If you don’t have a drivers license, you may also need to take additional skills tests. In order to get your motorcycle license, you will also need to pass the driving test. If you pass, you will be given your temporary license while you wait for your permanent one to come in the mail.
Riding a motorcycle is fun, but it requires a great deal of responsibility. It is important that you understand the rules required to receive a motorcycle license and the laws of the road.