Speeding is a traffic offense that you may be able to get away with in many parts of the world but not in the state of California, as the state and municipal police and the California highway patrol units are always on the lookout for drunk drivers, reckless drivers, and speeding drivers.
These units are known for their advanced strategies for stopping drivers who refuse to pull over when requested by law enforcement officers. This means that anyone who drives over the speed limit in a particular zone will be stopped and given a speeding ticket.
A traffic ticket in the state of California can be incredibly costly. While the face value of the ticket may seem like $35 or $40, you will pay three or four times that amount. This is because there are other fees that you will be required to pay. For instance, there is the 20% surcharge by the state. For a $40 speeding ticket, you will be required to pay an $8 surcharge to the state. This will increase your fine to $48, but there are many other assessment fees that you will be required to pay.
For instance, there is a $40 court operations assessment, a $35 conviction assessment, and a state penalty assessment fee that is usually 100% of the value of the base fine. If you get a $35 speeding ticket, therefore, you may end up paying over $146 in fines and assessments.
In addition to the base fine and assessments, there are several other penalty assessments that you will be required to pay after getting cited for speeding in the state of California. For starters, there is the EMS fund assessment of $2 for every $10 in base fines. The penalty assessment for the medical air transport fund stands at $4. You will also be required to pay half of the base fine as a court construction penalty assessment. County penalty assessment stands at $7 for every $10 of base fine, while the DNA ID penalty assessment stands at $40 for every $10 in base fines. The end result is that you may end up paying several hundred dollars more than the initial base fine.
Please note that the number of miles per hour that you were driving over the speed limit will also affect the fine you pay. For instance, if you were caught driving at 16 mph over the speed limit and got a $70 base fine speeding ticket, you may end up paying over $360 in fines and assessments. Basically, the faster you were driving, the higher the fines and penalties will be.
Once you pay the fine, points may be added to your driving record. This will significantly increase the cost of your auto insurance. In fact, some insurers may refuse to underwrite your policy. Your current insurer may even refuse to renew your policy under the current terms and conditions. This means that the cost of a speeding ticket goes far beyond the fines and penalty assessments that you will be required to pay.
When this happens, you should contact a speeding ticket lawyer in Sacramento or elsewhere in California.